EY Oceania

EY is a leading supporter of FinTech across the globe, focused on working with incumbents, regulators and start-ups to help grow the FinTech ecosystem. Through this experience, we understand the opportunities and challenges that FinTechs face across their lifecycle. A globally connected team of 26,000 professionals are aligned by both sector and technology, providing holistic services across the value chain. Below is our list of local EY FinTech contacts who can help you with your opportunities and challenges.

EY Census

In line with EYs deep experience in fintech, coupled with the knowledge/experience of EY Sweeney, EY was commissioned to conduct a census of fintechs in Australia. A broad research program was set in place in collaboration with a FinTech Australia steering committee. The research was conducted in August and September, 2018.

The purpose of the census is to:

Understand the size, composition, and maturity of the Australian fintech landscape

Discover the key challenges and blockers that fintech companies based in Australia are facing; and

Identify areas where further policy development or investment might be needed

This report presents the key findings and it will act as a powerful platform for FinTech Australia when engaging with members, stakeholders, commercial partners, regulators and government departments.

Case Studies

EY has engaged with fintechs to provide some unique solutions. Below are some case studies that are most relevant to this industry

Key Contacts

EY Oceania FinTech Leader

Meredith Angwin

Partner
Phone: +61 3 8650 7506
Mobile: +61 419 311 344
Email: Meredith.Angwin@au.ey.com

Meredith Angwin is a fintech advisor for EY Oceania. As a senior executive leader with over 25 years experience in business change consulting and business technology implementation, Meredith has worked across a range of sectors within Australia and Asia-Pacific. She is passionate about working with fintechs, industry bodies, government and regulators to help develop a collaborative financial services environment where the emerging fintech sector can continue to grow and thrive. Meredith is also a member of the Fintech Victoria steering group for the development of Victoria’s Fintech eco-system.

FinTech Services Leads

Growth Strategy

Scott Glover
Partner
Phone: +61 3 9288 8576
Mobile: +61 411 244 107
Email: Scott.Glover@au.ey.com

M&A

Colin McNeil
Partner
Phone: +61 2 8295 6906
Mobile: +61 421 054 485
Email: Colin.Mcneil@au.ey.com

Debt Raising

Sebastian Paphitis
Partner
Phone: +61 2 9248 4773
Mobile: +61 402 274 804
Email: Sebastian.Paphitis@au.ey.com

IPO / Due Diligence

Tim Coyne
Partner
Phone: +61 3 9288 8056
Mobile: +61 416 103 025
Email: Tim.Coyne@au.ey.com

Valuations & Business Modelling

Robert Buemmer
Partner
Phone: +61 2 9694 5197
Mobile: +61 417 095 155
Email: Robert.Buemmer@au.ey.com

Government Incentives

Laurence Osen
Partner
Phone: +61 2 9248 4390
Mobile: +61 403 322 753
Email: Laurence.Osen@au.ey.com

Assurance

Rohit Khanna
Partner
Phone: +61 2 9248 5560
Mobile: +61 403 341 812
Email: Rohit.Khanna@au.ey.com

Cybersecurity

Anthony Robinson
Partner
Phone: +61 2 9248 5975
Mobile: +61 428 720 310
Email: Anthony.Robinson@au.ey.com

Tax

Simon Jenner
Partner
Phone: +61 2 8295 6367
Mobile: +61 438 225 337
Email: Simon.Jenner@au.ey.com

Open Banking / Data Analytics

Mike Booth
Director
Phone: +61 2 9248 5154
Mobile: +61 499 001 695
Email: Mike.Booth@au.ey.com

Regtech

Kimberley Whale
Senior Manager
Phone: +61 2 8295 6130
Mobile: +61 402 127 586
Email: Kimberley.Whale@au.ey.com

Customer

Gary McInnes
Partner
Phone: +61 2 9248 4485
Mobile: +61 408 233 307
Email: Gary.McInnes@au.ey.com

IT Advisory

Mike Orman
Partner
Phone: +61 2 9276 9389
Mobile: +61 408 704 010
Email: Mike.Orman@au.ey.com

Blockchain

Glenn Rogers
Partner
Phone: +85 2 2849 9518
Mobile: +61 457 719 147
Email: Glenn.Rogers@au.ey.com

FinTech Sector Leads

Banking

Rowan Macdonald
Partner
Phone: +61 2 9248 4019
Mobile: +61 402 827 103
Email: Rowan.Macdonald@au.ey.com

Insurance

Andrew Parton
Partner
Phone: +61 2 9248 4428
Mobile: +61 404 810 676
Email: Andrew.J.Parton@ey.com

Wealth and Asset Management

Antoinette Elias
Partner
Phone: +61 2 8295 6251
Mobile: +61 403 342 699
Email: Antoinette.Elias@au.ey.com

Superannuation

Maree Pallisco
Partner
Phone: +61 3 9655 2508
Mobile: +61 419 311 093
Email: Maree.Pallisco@au.ey.com